A Much-Needed Update

Hello All!

It’s been quite a long time since I’ve gotten around here to post any updates. It seems as if more and more people around me are getting into the blog-posting scene so I thought I’d post an update to try to stay competitive!

Most people reading this know this, but I started this website as a way to relay my life experiences both pre-and post-cochlear implant activation. As I was beginning to make the decision to get the implant, I realized that there was little-to-no information on the subject of cochlear implantation from a personal perspective. Getting an implant was the biggest decision I have ever had to make and I felt that I had a difficult time getting reliable information.

This blog has several posts that span several years. If you are a recipient contemplating an implant or a parent pondering what your child will be experiencing, I created this website for you. I hope that you choose to navigate over the many previous posts that I’ve written over time to help bring comfort to this major decision that you and your family are making.

This website has received much more attention then I ever could have imagined so I thank you very much!

If you haven’t yet seen it, I’ve also got a video that corresponds with this website. The video was recorded during my activation and provides a first-hand account of what I was experiencing. We’ve all seen the many activation videos-I thought I’d add mine!

I’m nearing the completion of my Bachelor’s of Science degree. I will be finishing in December. I will begin the process of applying to graduate schools so that I can begin pursuing a Doctorate in Audiology. My hope is to become an audiologist so that I can help others who are going through the same life experiences that I’ve been through.

In my senior year, I’ve received more experience granting work then I ever thought would be imaginable for an undergraduate. Currently, I am working on some research on Large Vestibular Aqueduct Syndrome. Not only is this significant because it’s largely under-researched, but it’s a disorder that is very close to me. I’m very excited for this opportunity because this is the same syndrome that has afflicted me since birth.

Through the research opportunities, I’ve gotten to go to Orlando to present a case study. I’ve also gotten the amazing opportunity to present internationally in Milan, Italy. I’m very excited because through these presentations, we’ve found that the need for more research for Large Vestibular Aqueduct Syndrome is ever prevalent.


 

I share all of this because of a few reasons. When I was in grade school, I began (like everybody else) to wonder what my purpose in life was. I wondered why I was put on this Earth. I knew that I always wanted to help and serve others. I also knew that I wanted to make a big impact on this world. I feel that with the cochlear implant that I was finally given the tools to thrive and be able to help others. Many people tell me all the time that they forget that I’m even deaf. I take that as a complement because that means that I have established an identity for myself that doesn’t include the word “hearing loss”, “disabled”, or “deaf”.

Although I’ve somewhat let my deafness lead my career path (I know, easiest choice ever), I don’t ever let my deafness define me.

Everybody has what one affliction that they could let define them, I encourage you not not let what ever yours may be not define you.

Again, I thank you for reading this, and I hope that you have a great afternoon!

-Connor

 

 

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “A Much-Needed Update

  1. Casey Mercer says:

    Connor-
    I have CP (Cerebral Palsy) and although I do not have a hearing impairment you’ve helped me realize that every special need is not the same, and he can do whatever you want to in life. Not that I didn’t know put more of a perspective on it for me. Keep doing what you’re doing, and have a successful life. I love you.

  2. Casey Mercer says:

    Hello again, sorry about that last comment not making much sense, I’m using a dictation program to type. As I was saying, I have CP or cerebral palsy, although I do not have a hearing impairment I still look up to you for guidance, you’ve given me hope that I can do whatever I want to in life, not that I didn’t have that hope before, but you have re-instilled that in my brain. With having a “special need” friend like you, although we have only talked a couple of times through YouTube I still consider you a friend. Have a wonderful life. Contact me when you can by replying to this comment. I love you.

Leave a Reply

