3 Days!

Yes, that is right. In the number of days it took Jesus to resurrect from the dead, I will have my hearing in my right ear. Three days. It’s weird to think that something I’ve been waiting so long for is finally coming and is so close.

I’m pretty nervous to hear what everything is going to sound like. I mean if you simply Google “what a cochlear implant sounds like?”. You get about as many theories as there are how the earth got founded.

For instance:
1. Some people describe the activation of the cochlear implant as buzzing.
2. Some people say it sounds like bells and dings. (?)
3. Some people say it sounds evil. (The boy fell from the window)
4. Some people say the sound sounds mechanical. (I’m betting on this one)
5. Some people say the sound is overwhelming. (Pansies)
6. Some people say voices sound like chipmunks (Some people already do)

*There are many, many more descriptions.

I got to wondering: Why do so many people say such radically different descriptions about the same subject. Then it hit me, it’s because some people saying this don’t know sound before hand. They are just saying weird things to try and describe their newly discovered sound to their hearing-enabled friends. It is like asking a blind person to describe what they see (i.e blackness, darkness, little bit). They just don’t know because all they ever knew was being blind. If they got there sight magically, they may not know how to describe to you the sensation to gaining sight.

Luckily, I know what sound sounds like from my left ear. My right ear doesn’t know sound. So I’m getting the best of both worlds. I’m very anxious and excited at the same time. I can’t wait to hear certain things and I’m looking forward to it! I will definitely tell you my standpoint of what it sounds like from my newly activated cochlear implant. It will take several sessions of therapy to understand the sounds, but I’m ready to go.

Thank you guys for the continued support and prayers. I hope you had a Good New Years!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

